Electrospinning Company strengthens the Board

The Electrospinning Company has appointed two new members to its Board of Directors to help develop its strategy and drive its growing business in the regenerative medical device sector. Drummond Paris and Nigel Edwards join Kate Ronayne (representing STFC Innovations), Malcolm Chapman (Angel investor) and Ann Kramer (CEO) as well as observer Mark White (Rainbow Seed Fund). Drummond is appointed as chairperson, and the company thanks Malcolm Chapman for his  excellent service in this role over the past few years. 


Drummond Paris, Chairman of the Board

Drummond Paris has an impressive record of business achievements. After early experience in Pharmaceutical Sales, Sales Management , Marketing and Clinical Research, he was appointed to a number of increasingly senior management positions in the Pharmaceutical Industry with Sandoz and Novartis. More recently, in non-executive chairmanship roles, he lead the Board in supporting management to build an attractive medical technology business to guide an early stage, medical technology Company (Sirigen) towards a trade-sale exit where business was acquired by Becton Dickinson. He then assisted the start-up Pharma company (Karus Therapeutics) over a 7 year period in supporting the business to raise sufficient funding to permit the development of 2 unique classes of small molecule cancer therapies. He stepped down from this role in 2014 after the Company successfully received the second tranche of £20 million series B investment  from a syndicate of 3 major life- science VCs.  [divider top=”0″ style=”dashed”]


Nigel Edwards NED

Nigel Edwards  has over 30 years’ industry experience in commercial development, strategic planning, M&A and IP gained across Medtech, Biotech and Pharma in roles for Biocompatibles, Metris Therapeutics, Eli Lilly and GSK/Wellcome. He set up and leads the consultancy Medicon Strategic Development Ltd. which provides commercialisation, corporate transactions and IP advice. He holds an MBA from Cranfield Business School.





The Board is supported by an expert Scientific Advisory Board

[divider top=”0″ style=”single”] [newmtt title=”Scientific Advisors”]


Professor David Williams, OBE

David is Professor of Healthcare Engineering at Loughborough University. He has held senior leadership positions in academia and industry, working for much of his career at their interface and in healthcare since 1999. Responsibilities have included line, change and consortium management. David has published ~400 refereed journal and conference papers, has held >£40M of research grant income, successfully supervised >20 PhDs and founded two world class research groups. The last decade focussed on leadership of major research and research training initiatives in regenerative medicine (RM) and leading multi-disciplinary health research across the Loughborough campus. His early career was primarily in Cambridge University. Personal research addresses manufacturing and regulatory science of clinician-pulled cell based therapies and opportunities for engineers within defence medicine. Recent policy contributions include oral evidence to the House of Lords Select Committee in RM (2013) and membership of the Department of Health RM Expert Group (2014).  He was made a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering (FREng) in 2002 and an Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) in 2014 for services to science and engineering. [divider top=”0″ style=”dashed”]


Dr Lorenzo Moroni

Lorenzo received his Ph.D. in 2006 at University of Twente on 3D scaffolds for osteochondral regeneration, for which he was awarded the European doctorate award in Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering from the European Society of Biomaterials (ESB). In 2007, he worked at Johns Hopkins University as a post-doctoral fellow in the Elisseeff lab, focusing on hydrogels and stem cells. In 2008, he was appointed the R&D director of the Musculoskeletal Tissue Bank of Rizzoli Orthopedic Institute, where he investigated the use of stem cells from alternative sources for cell banking, and the development of novel bioactive scaffolds for skeletal regeneration. From 2009 till 2014, he joined again University of Twente, where he got tenured in the Tissue Regeneration department. Since 2014 he works at Maastricht University and in 2016 he became professor in biofabrication for regenerative medicine at the MERLN Institute for Technology-Inspired Regenerative Medicine. His research group interests aim at developing biofabrication technologies to generate libraries of 3D scaffolds able to control cell fate. In 2014, he received the prestigious Jean Leray award for outstanding young principal investigators from the ESB and the ERC starting grant. In 2016, he also received the prestigious Young Scientist Award for outstanding principal investigators from TERMIS. [/newmtt]

  • Last updated: October 13, 2016
filed under: News